Page 1 of 1

You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: October 16th, 2010, 2:38 am
by jetheat
I have downloaded and installed and activated the plugin but as soon as I do, I get the error:

Code: Select all
You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.


I have PHP 5.3.3 installed on my server.

Furthermore, the plugin settings don't appear in my Wordpress sidebar once it is activated.

I have tried adding:
define ("WS_PLUGIN__S2MEMBER_MIN_PHP_VERSION", "5.2");
to my wp-config file but that didn't make the plugin appear on my sidebar either.

Any suggestions?

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: October 19th, 2010, 3:47 pm
by jetheat
No answers yet?

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: October 22nd, 2010, 5:37 am
by Jason Caldwell
Hi there. Thanks for your patience.

I can confirm that s2Member IS compatible with PHP v5.3.
Are you running a beta release perhaps?

Please run this test file and see what you get.
Code: Select all
<?php echo PHP_VERSION; ?>

If you take a look inside /s2member/s2member.php you will find this section of code:
Code: Select all
version_compare (PHP_VERSION, WS_PLUGIN__S2MEMBER_MIN_PHP_VERSION, ">=") 

You can remove that part of the conditional statement if you really need to.

~ Please report back if you can. Thanks!

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 4th, 2010, 10:44 am
by MarshaS
I'm trying to use s2Member as well and I have exactly the same issue.
I just had the webhost transfer the site to a server with PHP v5.2, uninstalled and reinstalled s2Member and I still get the message and don't see anything in the dashboard for s2Member.

Please advise.

And note, I'm not a coder but I can find my way around most things with enough explanation, so please be gentle. ;)

Many thanks.

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 4th, 2010, 11:12 am
by Jason Caldwell
Hi there. Thanks for reporting this important issue.

Please load this file onto your server ( anywhere ) and open it in a web browser. I'd like to see what your installation of PHP is reporting itself as; this way we'll know where the comparison issue is at.
Code: Select all
<?php echo PHP_VERSION; ?>
php-version.zip
(154 Bytes) Downloaded 32 times

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 4th, 2010, 1:55 pm
by MarshaS
Thanks, Jason.
I extracted and uploaded the file. When I open it, I get this:
<?php echo PHP_VERSION; ?>

Is this what you're looking for?

Marsha

The site is http://www.polaritycenter.com

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 4th, 2010, 2:06 pm
by Jason Caldwell
Thanks for the follow-up.
No, you'll want to be sure the file has a .php extension so the contents of the file are parsed ( processed ) as PHP code. You should end up with something like this in your browser:
Code: Select all
5.2.6

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 4th, 2010, 4:11 pm
by MarshaS
Forgive my ignorance here.
When you say, Open it in your browser, what exactly do you mean?
I right clicked the file and opened it in a new tab.
Is there something else I should be doing?
Sorry if this is basic stuff. I'm learning, but not much of a techie yet. :?

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 4th, 2010, 4:45 pm
by Jason Caldwell
Not a problem. Since PHP is a server-side programming language, you'll want to FTP/upload the file /php-version.php to your web server; so you can access it through a web browser.

So you might open a link in your browser that points to:
Code: Select all
http://yoursite.com/php-version.php
That will output what we need then.

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 4th, 2010, 6:29 pm
by MarshaS
I uploaded it using the upload command in the file manager of the web host. Is that not adequate?

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 18th, 2010, 9:56 pm
by mariamar
Hi,

I have the same problem as Jethead. I am trying to install s2member to my wordpress and I get the same message. Please advise, as I don't see any solution offered, and there's three of us with the problem. Be easy on me. I'm not a coder.

Thanks,
MM

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 22nd, 2010, 1:50 pm
by paulinobrener
i uploaded php-version.php and ran it (at http://elsse.com/php-version.php)

and got the following

4.4.9

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 22nd, 2010, 2:04 pm
by paulinobrener
and i got this message from my server host customer service

"The server your account is on is running php 5.3.2."

Re: You need PHP v5.2+ to use the s2Member plugin.

PostPosted: November 25th, 2010, 4:11 pm
by paulinobrener
my issue is solved. thanks for the answers!